Spring has sprung – I have the evidence….

Spring seems to finally be here. By coincidence, I had a very quiet chilled out weekend, with the kids spending a couple of days with either best friend (the girl) or cousins (the boy). This gave me the opportunity to finally go out and buy myself a camera. It’s not to the same standard as the one I borrowed recently, but at about 10% of the cost, I can’t complain at the pictures I’ve been able to take with it. For the record, I bought a Nikon Coolpix L810, and am very happy with it.

As the weather was so nice, we took stuntdog Sparky for a nice walk out in the fields near our house. Here’s some of the pics I took.

The Sparkmeister contemplating another dip in the stream…..

Image

Gratuitous closeup of a spring bud…..

Image

Crocuses outside our house

Image

These planted fields reminded me of rows of ribbing (for the knitters out there)

Image

As we move into spring, I’m hoping I will be able to wear a self-knitted cardigan, instead of a coat. I’m currently working on Hannah Fettig’s Breezy Cardigan which is knitting up nicely. I’ve never attempted an adult-sized garment before, mainly because I didn’t want to knit something for myself until I knew I’d learned enough for it to be a success. It’s swathes and swathes of stocking stitch, which is good TV knitting, but it’s difficult to motivate myself to pick it up. I have about 2-3″ of the body left to do, plus 3″ of rib, before I tackle the sleeves and the picked up edge. 

Image

The yarn is Malabrigo Arroyo in Prussian Blue, which I love. I think I could knit with Malabrigo yarns forever, all the ones I’ve come across (Arroyo, Sock and Rios) are butter-like in their softness. There aren’t many stockists in the UK, but I’ve used Tangled Yarn and Woolstack in the past, getting excellent service from both. I’ve also been lucky enough to have a few trips to the US with my “real life” work, and it would be rude not to buy yarn while I was there, wouldn’t it!

Do you have any spring creations on your needles?

3 thoughts on “Spring has sprung – I have the evidence….

Add yours

  1. Great photos! And I love how your cardi is coming along, beautiful colour. I’m going to start working on two test knits, both very springy, one in Arroyo.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Meanderings

Least said, soonest mended.

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

Attic24

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

westknits

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

