Sewing Obsession and a Liebster award

I’ve been meaning to write this blog for two weeks, but have only just got around to it! I have been nominated for a “Leibster Award” by Jenna Makes Things – a big thank you to Jenna for finding my blog and liking it!

liebster

Apparently, the award means something like this….

“The Liebster Award is an award given to rising bloggers who have less than 200 followers. Liebster is German and means sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, and welcome.”

And the rules are:

  • You thank the person who nominated you!
  • You answer the 11 questions posted by your nominator
  • You pass on the award to 11 new recipients
  • You post 11 new questions to your recipient bloggers

So here are the answers to Jenna’s questions..

  • Describe your blog in three words.

Knitting, family, fun

  • Why did you start blogging?

As a kind of diary of events in my life, so that the thoughts stopped buzzing around my head.

  • What is your favourite blog post?

Of my own? I quite like the “Spring has sprung” one, as it was the first one where I could show photos taken with my own camera

  • What is one thing you would change about your blog?

I’d like a nice logo to go with the title – and there is a reader of this blog who may know all about that 😉

  • What is the best crafty present you ever received or gifted?

A friend of mine made a scrapbook-style photo album, using pictures of our holiday to Fuerteventura last year. It’s beautiful.

  • What is your favourite colour?

I have a love of each colour ;). But if I had to pick, I’d say dark red.

  • What book are you reading at the moment?

“Snuff” by Terry Pratchett. I have read, re-read and re-read all of his books. Great escapism.

  • If you could pick one superpower for a single day, what would it be and why?

I should pick something that would enable me to bring about world peace or something noble like that, but actually, I’d pick the ability to fly, coz it must feel amazing!

  • What is your favorite food to eat or to cook?

Easy. Chocolate.

  • Do you have any pets and if so what are their names?

I think you’ve met Sparky the stunt dog…..but we also have two cats called Nobby and Esme (another tip of the hat to Terry Pratchett there).

  • What is your favourite cocktail?

I’m not a big cocktail fan, but I do like Tia Maria and Baileys together – I think it’s called a Honky Tonk, but I could be wrong.

So – who am I going to bestow this award on? Here’s the list……

How to Learn to Crochet

Helen Knits

The Knit Enabler

Pixie-Mum

Wool in Broadway

Knit2Purl2

Rosa Ribbons

Never Not Knitting

Knitting New England

Yellow Dog Knitting

Trundle Bug

And my questions to those folks?

  1. Describe your blog in three words.
  2. Why did you start blogging?
  3. What’s your favourite blog to read?
  4. What is one thing you would change about your blog?
  5. What is your favourite colour?
  6. What music are you into at the moment?
  7. What book are you reading at the moment?
  8. What is your favorite food to eat or to cook?
  9. What new skill would you like to learn?
  10. What are you planning to do today?
  11. Did you learn any of your crafts at school?

I’m looking forward to seeing the answers to these questions!

To finish off, I thought I’d mention my Great British Sewing Bee obsession – I’ve only watched it twice, but have (of course) promised to sew all my own clothes (and the kids clothes too) from now on. Unrealistic, I know, but I have made a start on putting together a blouse for the girl, based on the little toddler dress that the group made this week. Here it is so far, needing shoulder straps, a cinched waist and a hem at the bottom. Hopefully I’ll be posting a picture of the finished object soon :). I’ve loved watching the program so far. I think Ann will win, although I *want* Lauren to win (and think she deserves it more).

DSCN0220

I found her blog online recently – Guthrie and Ghani – and have really enjoyed reading her interpretation of the program. I’d have nominated her for the Liebster award too, but I suspect she has more than the 200 follower limit!

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Evesham Swimming Club

The public face of Evesham Swimming Club

Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Meanderings

Least said, soonest mended.

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

Attic24

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

westknits

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

Yarn Harlot

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

