May day madness

This week has finally seen an improvement in the weather, and we’ve all made the most of it. Esme managed to combine some warm summer sun with a drying dog blanket….

Image

Nanny & Grandad came to visit for Sunday tea and a relaxing bank holiday Monday. Nobby was very glad of someone new to sit on…..

DSCN0464

We got some time in the garden, and even managed to plant some tomato, pepper and cucumber plants. It’s the first time we’ve tried this – with a bit of luck I’ll be posting pics of our own veggies in a few months time!

DSCN0420 DSCN0423

The kids enjoyed the warm weather, and managed a water fight in the garden….

DSCN0453 DSCN0458

Knitting-wise, I took a break from the sun to carry on working on my third “Forest Canopy Shawl” (here’s the Ravelry link). It’s a lovely pattern, really easy to memorise, and I had discarded the pattern as soon as the set up rows and a single pattern repeat (8 rows) were done. The lace pattern looks like this….

DSCN0465

I’m not sure yet, but I think DD wants to have this as a shawl when she is bridesmaid later this year. We’ll see what her Aunty says first, knitting isn’t everyone’s cup of tea, I know. In honour of the motivation behind the project, I’ve named it “Secret Garden” – the theme of the wedding. Quite apt, really considering the pattern is very leaf-like….

It was lovely to start working on something different, after finishing two long term projects this week. The first is my first adult-sized garment, a waterfall style cardigan for me. I’ve worn it all week, and although it is very long and drapey, it’s comfy and warm, and I like it!

DSCN0403

The second finished project is a pair of socks – no pics here yet, as they are for a swap, and we don’t like spoilers, do we…….Once the recipient has opened them though, I’ll pop a pic on here. To be honest, I nearly kept them – a smashing pattern, and one I’ll probably use again.

I’d post a pic of Sparky, but he’s off on his travels again this weekend, being a stunt dog again. I’m sure that he will have been enjoying the sunshine “on location” :).

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Evesham Swimming Club

The public face of Evesham Swimming Club

Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Meanderings

Least said, soonest mended.

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

Attic24

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

westknits

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

