Gift knitting, and when it’s just too hard to blog

I have been meaning to blog for a while, but have had a major road block in my way. It isn’t subject matter – I have lots of family stuff happening all the time, and am knitting every day. It’s more to do with what I’m able to share. I have written a new pattern and published it on Ravelry, and of course I’ve knitted it up as part of that process. I’ve knitted a shawl. I’m knitting a pair of socks. The problem is, I like to include photos on my blog, but all these knitted bits-and-bobs are presents for people who may be reading this – in fact I know at least one person DEFINITELY reads my blog (for which I’m very grateful!).

I can’t be the only crafty blogger who experiences this, especially as we get closer to that season of goodwill and giving. How do you get around it?

I’ve decided to go half way by publishing suitably vague, black-and-white pictures that don’t give much away. So here goes……

This is a shawl I knitted over the last month or so, destined as a gift for a very, very good friend….

image

This is a sneak peak of a pattern I designed and knitted up in a flash for yet another good friend. With this one, I’m hoping to be able to reveal all well before Christmas, as the pattern is ideal for gift knitting and I want to share it in plenty of time for people to take advantage of the speediness of it!

image

And the socks……I am only just getting going on these, and the pattern is very complex. Vorticity is out of Alice Yu’s Socktopus book – great reading for sock lovers.

image

So, if you’re reading this, and think you may be in line for a knitted gift this year, I hope I didn’t spoil any surprises!

One photo I can share in colour is the progress of my “Boxy”. In the big scheme of things, I suppose this isn’t taking any longer than you would expect for an over-sized sweater knitted on 3mm needles with 4-ply, but I’m all about instant gratification. With a bit of luck, I’ll be able to wear it this winter, but at the moment it feels a long way off! So far, I’m about 14″ into the body – and have been working on it since early September! Argh!

image

That’s better – although I have a love of each colour, this mainly black and white blog is somehow quite satisfying šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Evesham Swimming Club

The public face of Evesham Swimming Club

Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Meanderings

Least said, soonest mended.

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

Attic24

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

westknits

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

Yarn Harlot

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

