Something new

I’ve done something new. Something I never would have imagined doing even a few months ago. I’ve started studying again.

I suppose I’ve had an urge to study again for a while now, but my life is just too busy to take on long, difficult, academic course. Over the last few years I’ve considered taking on a Master’s degree in *something*, but I couldn’t find a subject that did it for me. I couldn’t imagine spending time on a subject that would advance my career – I work to live, not the other way around! Finishing a full day’s work only to start studying in a related field was not an appetising prospect. On the other hand, I couldn’t imagine investing time in an area that was no use to me in the future either……what would be the point, to me, of a new qualification in psychology, or biology, no matter how interesting?

Then I came across something that tickled me……I found a City & Guilds course in hand knitting – well, two courses, actually. It is possible to study for either level 2 or level 3, roughly equivalent to GCSE and ‘A’ level respectively from what I can gather. The more I thought about the idea, the more I liked it. And here’s why…..

I’m not sure how obvious it is, but I quite like knitting (yes, that was indeed sarcasm). I spend at least an hour every day doing it, although the odd day goes by when I don’t pick up the needles, due to real life getting in the way. As I’ve written about in an earlier blog post, I’d love to take it more seriously at some point in the future, and maybe even use my skills to support my obsession hobby from a financial perspective. Having some kind of qualification would seem to be an advantage, and certainly won’t prevent me from reaching my goal – who knows, it might even help me get there! It feels like a no-brainer to use my knitting time a little more wisely, so I signed the dotted line and am already working on the samples in Level 2, module 1. I imagine the knitting photos I post will be a little less interesting for a while, but I can’t help but be quite excited about it myself……..

Something else is new too….who would imagine that I would ever be excited about knitting swatches!

20131109-173927.jpg

2 thoughts on “Something new

Add yours

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Evesham Swimming Club

The public face of Evesham Swimming Club

Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Meanderings

Least said, soonest mended.

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

Attic24

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

westknits

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

