Resolutely not worrying

I’ve had a quiet day today, hiding away in my study/craft room. I’m very lucky to have it, although its existence is a result of being a home-worker, rather than a plan to spend a lot of time crafting. It’s tidy in here today, which is rare, and once I sat down, I just couldn’t get up. Hubby sent up toasted sandwiches at lunch time, I’ve nipped out for a couple of drinks and the odd left-over Christmas chocolate, but other than that I’ve “hermitted” all day with an in-progress crochet ripple blanket for company. This is what it looks like so far – looks like a lot, except that I’ve had it on the go since April……

20131231-175908.jpg

I suppose having quiet time has given me the opportunity to rest and recuperate after the Christmas madness. Like most folks, I’ve started to think about what 2014 has in store for us, and what I’m leaving behind.

In my own home, 2013 has been a pretty good year – not astounding, but not bad either. The kids have been doing well in school, the bills are being paid, that sort of thing – I’d say more about how lucky I am with my family, but I’m afraid of “jinxing” myself! Outside of our core family unit, we’ve seen illness, job insecurity, sadness and loss. Amongst that, we’ve also seen new opportunities, optimism and the chance for new starts. I’m sure 2014 will see some of that begin to come to fruition, in fact that’s probably my biggest wish for next year – that the people I love who have experienced sadness will find the happiness they deserve.

I’ve also spent time in the last few days thinking about New Year’s resolutions, and of course I find myself planning life changing weight loss, the implementation of an exercise plan (swimming twice a week should be easy to fit in, right?), better time management, a cleaner/tidier home and less grumpiness with both hubby and the kids. I’ll definitely aim for all of that, but I think my resolution this year is to worry less. I spend too much time worrying about all the things I just mentioned, plus a myriad other things related to work, life, the future, the family yada, yada, yada. Overall, I think I’d achieve much more if I was more chilled out, less tense, and less concerned about what might be. When I look at where I was a year or two ago, compared to where I am now, I don’t think worrying has got me here. So I’m going to stop doing it.

Easier said than done – but I’ll give it a go…….

So, finally, I want to say thanks for reading this blog, whether this is your first time, or whether you’ve put up with the many months-worth of whitterings I’ve typed in here. Happy new year – I hope 2014 brings you what you wish for.

One thought on “Resolutely not worrying

Add yours

  1. Thanks for following my blog, has yours come to an ending with the end of the year? Have been a bit slow reading blogs lately, but tried to keep mine going although I feel my life is not so interesting as many who blog here. Also, there are some areas of my life about which I can no longer blog so my ramblings don’t reflect all my thoughts these days. Someone took exception to something I had written a year earlier, the fallout has spread far wider than we could have imagined.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Meanderings

Least said, soonest mended.

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

Attic24

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

westknits

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

