All about the blankets and a new stake

Gosh, it’s been a while. But I am hoping I’ve rediscovered my blogging mojo!

What’s happened in the last three years? Erm, a lot! As I’ve posted before with stats, I figured the best way to set a new baseline was to re-quote them. I won’t feel right posting about new things until I give myself a start point (a bit like this post from three years ago).

  • 136 projects (plus 60 in three years)
  • 6 designs (only one more, but it is pretty successful (by my standards) with 20 projects, 434 favourites, 6 comments and 964 downloads)
  • 2630 pattern downloads (+2283)
  • 957 “favourites” on my designs (+739)
  • 65 projects based on my designs (+48)
  • 6699 forum posts (+2419)
  • 648 patterns in my library (+485 – oops)
  • 37 yarns in stash (not so bad – and a few are nearly finished on blanket projects)

Do I still plan to do a C&G? No……

Is Sparky still a star performer? Yes!

Are the kids growing up – erm, you’d better believe they are. The girl is now an intelligent and beautiful (if slightly headstrong) teenager and the boy is a cute-as-hell 10 year old with a quick brain for maths and a decent swimming ability. OK, proud mom moment over…..

And what have I been making? Blankets, blankets and more blankets. Surprisingly few socks (although I’m remedying that). Here we go…..

I finished the Slippery Ripple (blimey, the kids look young)……

image_small2

We now also have a scraps blanket for when we’re in the car…….

image_small2-1

Nanny and Grandad have a very welcome comforter (sorry, photographed without ends sewn in. Sue me.)

image_small2-2

A big snuggler for the boy (and Esme likes it too)…..

And two baby blankets (because we now have twins in the family).

 

With 60 projects added to my tally in three years, there’s clearly a lot more I could show – but as I’m all-about-the-blankets at the moment, it felt like a good way to ease myself back into my blog.

As for my next projects…..well, there are at least two more blankets to finish (nearly done), and I have socks on the go. My favourite sock pattern is Charade by Sandra Park, for a couple of reasons. Its a nice easy one to memorise and knit when out and about, but I also love the snarky tone to the pattern text. The best bit?

screen-shot-2017-02-21-at-10-32-35

Love it 🙂

I’m knitting a pair now, first socks in ages. Maybe that’s my next blog topic sorted then!

2 thoughts on “All about the blankets and a new stake

Add yours

  1. Soem impressive stats – I have a long way to go

    I am trying my first sock now – last night I turned my first heel, Im knitting top down using the magic loop technique!!! when I say first sock – its actually my 3rd go and as I cant unpick I have to restart everytime I make a mistake…..

    I might look at the pattern you mention and see if it really is easy 😉

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Evesham Swimming Club

The public face of Evesham Swimming Club

Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Meanderings

Least said, soonest mended.

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

Attic24

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

westknits

A yarn about knitting and the threads of family life

